What Is ‘White Privilege’?

This morning, while contemplating the Cosmos in my shower, my mind started to wander. I thought of how thankful I was to be the recipient of White privilege.

Unfortunately, it was at that point that I began wonder ‘What the Hell is White privilege, anyway?‘.

This is what I discovered. White privilege is what allows me to get up every weekday (and some weekends) at 6AM, hop in the shower, get dressed, head to my job, and work until 6PM. It’s this White privilege that allowed me to take out student loans (and repay them) and study endlessly for fourteen years to get two professional degrees. This same White privilege is what allows me to have a decent job so I can afford a decent home for my family in a safe neighbourhood, away from the dusky hordes that hate and despise me because of my White privilege. White privilege allows me give up forty percent of what I earn, so that those who don’t ‘enjoy’ White privilege can have some ‘gibsmedat‘.

White privilege allows me to send my children to an alternate State school because they weren’t smart enough to get into their first choice (even though their SAT scores and GPAs dwarf those of virtually all ‘student-athletes’ and ‘diversity admissions’). It’s that same White privilege that allows me to pay hundreds extra every month so my offspring won’t live in housing beside the ghetto, where the residents despise them because they also have White privilege.

Where did this White privilege come from? I suspect it came from my Irish ancestors who traveled to the New World in the 1600s, searching for a better place for their families. White privilege is what allowed them to fight, and sometimes die, for their country through the years. White privilege is what has allowed each generation to reach a little bit higher than the one before it.

This is White privilege. It sounds a lot like what my mother called ‘hard work‘.

Leave a Reply

